Drupal Association blog: 2018 Drupal Association at-large election winner announced

rfp-robotRFP ROBOT: Website Request for Proposal Generator

The time has come for a new website (or website redesign), which means you need to write a website request for proposal or web RFP. A Google search produces a few examples, but they vary wildly and don’t seem to speak really to your goals for developing or redesigning a new website. You need to write a website RFP that will clearly articulate your needs and generate responses from the best website designers and developers out there. But how?

Have no fear, RFP Robot is here. He will walk you through a step-by-step process to help you work through the details of your project and create a PDF formatted website design RFP that will provide the information vendors need to write an accurate bid. RFP Robot will tell you what info you should include, point out pitfalls, and give examples.

The staff and board of the Drupal Association would like to congratulate our newest board member:
Suzanne Dergacheva.
Thank you, Suzanne, for stepping forward to serve the Drupal community. On behalf of the community I also want to thank all the candidates who put themselves out there in service of Drupal and nominated themselves. We are grateful that our community has so many brave and generous people willing to contribute this way.
Suzanne’s election to the board represents the seventh year of elections to a community-at-large seat on the Drupal Association Board.
This year, in my new position as Community Liaison, I wanted the elections to happen using the same processes as last year to observe how everything worked internally and to form proposals for how we can continue to improve the process in following years.
Our next steps will be to reach out to the candidates for their evaluation of the elections experience.
We also want to hear from the voters. Please tell us about your experience with the elections process in the comments below. If you did not vote, we especially want to hear from you, through a special one-question survey. Your feedback is important to us so that we can make the 2019 elections process even better.
About the Elections Methodology: Instant Run-off Voting(IRV)
Elections for the Community-at-large positions on the Drupal Association Board are conducted through Instant Run-off Voting. This means that voters can rank candidates according to their preference. When tabulating ballots, the voters’ top-ranked choices are considered first. If no candidate has more than 50% of the vote, the candidate with the lowest votes is eliminated. Then the ballots are tabulated again, with all the ballots that had the eliminated candidate as their first rank now recalculated with their second rank choices. This process is repeated until only two candidates remain and a clear winner can be determined. This voting method helps to ensure that the candidate who is most preferred by the most number of voters is ultimately elected. You can learn more about IRV (also known as Alternative Vote) in this video.
Voting Results
There were 9 candidates in contention for the single vacancy among the two community-at-large seats on the Board. 967 voters cast their ballots out of a pool of 74268 eligible voters (1.3%). Voters ranked an average of 3.7 candidates on their ballots.
The bar charts below show the vote counts for each candidate in each round.
Yellow — Votes carried over from the previous round.
Green — Votes received in this round.
Red — Votes transferred away in this round.
A candidate’s votes in a round is the sum of the yellow and green bars.
Since the green and red bars represent votes being transferred, the sum of the
green and red bars is the same.
The exhausted bar represents votes where the voter did not indicate a next
preference and thus there were no candidates to transfer the vote to.
Round 1

Count of first choices.
Round 2


Count after eliminating Esaya Jokonya and transferring votes.
Round 3


Count after eliminating Tom Grandy and transferring votes.
Round 4


Count after eliminating Jairo Pinzon and transferring votes.
Round 5


Count after eliminating Anya Abchiche and transferring votes.
Round 6


Count after eliminating Piyush Poddar and transferring votes.
Round 7


Count after eliminating Suchi Garg and transferring votes.
Round 8


Count after eliminating Nikki Stevens and transferring votes.
Final round between Suzanne Dergacheva and Hussain Abbas.
Winner is Suzanne Dergacheva.
One candidate, who wishes to remain anonymous, withdrew after voting closed. It did not alter the results.
Source: New feed

Posted on April 30, 2019 in Denver Drupal Development

Share the Story

About the Author

This is the "wpengine" admin user that our staff uses to gain access to your admin area to provide support and troubleshooting. It can only be accessed by a button in our secure log that auto generates a password and dumps that password after the staff member has logged in. We have taken extreme measures to ensure that our own user is not going to be misused to harm any of our clients sites.